JamieR's Cook Nook (including Recipe Redemption)

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

JamieR's Cook Nook (including Recipe Redemption)

Postby JamieR » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:52 pm

I hope no one minds me starting this thread here!

I am new to following the McDougall program, but am already thrilled with the results I am getting.

While I don't always enjoy the day-to-day requirements of cooking, I do enjoy exploring new recipes and ingredients on occasion. Like most of us, I tend to get stuck in ruts, cooking the same favorites over and over. Both my DH and I are in search of new favorites that will fill the bill on our new plan (a few old favorites will work, but not many).

For nearly 12 years now, I've been running free cooking/recipe lists on the Internet, on YahooGroups and on my own server (cooking-lists.com). As part of running these lists, four days out of the week, I scour hundreds of newspaper food sections, looking for interesting things to share with my readers. Newspaper sections are volatile; unlike regular recipe websites which remain essentially the same for a long time (with only new additions), newspaper food sections are often refreshed every week (with the old week's articles being completely purged). So I've found the newspapers to be a fun place for new and seasonal recipes.

Since going vegan in January, and now low-fat McDougall vegan in February, I'm having a harder time "doing what I've done" for the last 12 years. I see so many articles with bad recipes, and even articles from nutritionists with what I now consider to be bad advice.

So I am looking at these articles/recipes with new eyes; many I am just discarding because they are just completely beyond redemption. But a handful are close to being good and healthy...and the tiniest fraction are actually on plan!