Newbie Help!

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Newbie Help!

Postby Donnie5614 » Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:02 am

So my wife and I have been doing a plant based diet For 2 months. She has had breast cancer on and off for 5 years and she feels a plant based diet is the way to keep cancer away. I have decided to do it with her. I have gotten past my meat cravings, potato chips etc. However, I am not losing weight. I need to lose 20 lbs at least.

After reading post on here my main problem seems to be I am still eating nuts, oils and maybe too many starches and I need to exercise more

I travel and work from home. Fixing things is difficult. I am looking for some easy things to eat . Any suggestions on how this big boy can lose some weight?

Thanks for your help

Donnie
Donnie5614

Re: Newbie Help!

Postby Ltldogg » Mon Mar 09, 2020 9:52 am

Hi Donnie,

Welcome :)

First off, you are not eating too many starches. The McDougall Program is based on mostly whole, intact starches, with the rest being whole veggies and whole fruits. Make potatoes, corn, brown rice, sweet potatoes, oats, etc. the base for all your meals and add some beans, peas or lentils as well if you like them, but not necessary. Then remove all animal products, all oil products and greatly minimize if not eliminate all highly processed products. If you need to lose weight avoid nuts and seeds; they are not necessary for any reason and are high in calories, high in fat and addictive. Eat when hungry, until full. Don't count calories, track portions or nutrients; it's a waste of time.