Hello! New to this style of eating.

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Hello! New to this style of eating.

Postby Martin280 » Mon Jan 27, 2014 12:12 pm

Hello!

I'm new to this style of eating, and I'm just now getting setup to start this lifestyle. My goal is to lose weight. I have over 100 pounds that I need to lose, because I'm currently about 310 pounds and I should weigh around 180.

I recently bought the book on my Kindle and I read it. After deciding to follow the plan, I did my best to follow the guidelines and I have ordered ingredients that fit the parameters of the plan.

My grocery list looks like this, and I am using these ingredients to compose my meals:

Sauces/Condiments: Hunts Original BBQ Sauce, Annie's Natural Organic Ketchup, Sriracha, Organic Balsamic vinegar, Kirkland Maple Syrup, Annie's Natural Dijon Mustard, Pace Picante Salsa
Main Starches: Bob's Red Mill 10 Grain, Bob's Red Mill Spice N' Nice, Bob's Red Mill Apple Cinnamon, Fresh local farmer potatoes, frozen potatoes, brown rice
Vegetables: Frozen vegetable mix (20% corn, 23% carrot, 12% kidney bean, 23% garden pea, 22% green bean), Fresh green salad (dressing made from vinegar/mustard/maple syrup mentioned above), frozen potato/vegetable mixture (35% potato, 25% carrot, 20% onion, 20% bell peppers)
Soups: McDougall Minestrone, McDougall Split Pea
Fruits: Frozen blueberries, fresh bananas, fresh apples, fresh pineapple
Snacks: Lundberg Organic Rice Cakes (Cinnamon Toast flavor)

A simplified structure of my plan:
Breakfast: Hot Cereal w/ Blueberries
Lunch: Baked Potato + Soup
Dinner: Rice or Potato + Vegetable
Snacks: Rice cakes

I'm planning to accompany this with daily exercise. I can't do much due to some injuries, but I can walk for about one hour a day in addition to my normal working day physical activities (a lot of walking/standing).