Flavored waters

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Flavored waters

Postby Mrs Missakian » Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:47 pm

I sampled flavored waters today at Costco. I didn't see anything in the ingredient label that was bad but I'm still new to reading labels. Upon further research, it appears that they use Splenda to sweeten the water. Has anybody used this product. Is it McDougall approved? I'm not planning on guzzling it but after 20 days of McDougalling, I'm pretty burnt out on water and herbal teas.
Mrs Missakian

Postby Ladybug » Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:55 pm

I got a bottle of pomagranite juice just add a little to a glass of water. Yum Yum. Could do the same with any frozen juice also blackberry ,orange ,tangerine lime, the choices are limitless. I would also think any nectars would be good ,more choices They wouldn't be adding many calories as you would use only a little for flavor.
Ladybug

Postby hope101 » Tue Mar 20, 2007 5:16 pm

Mrs Missakian, here is a recent newsletter that can tell you what Dr. McDougall thinks about artificial sweeteners. I doubt he would have issue with occasional use of them, but overall it's not really favourable.

http://www.drmcdougall.com/misc/2006nl/nov/sweeteners.htm

I too use the few Tbsp. of juice in cold water (or even lime juice) for my cold drinks. If you like hot drinks, have you tried some Teeccino with a splash of chocolate Silk in it. I have really grown to love it.
hope101

Make your own flavored waters

Postby Malva » Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:03 pm

Just like the previous suggestions.
I put a splash of apple juice in a glass and fill it with water.
Just a hint of apple.
It takes me 2-3 days to go through a 10 oz bottle of apple juice that way.