Hello, I am new

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

Hello, I am new

Postby dawsonpam01 » Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:07 am

My name is Pam.

I have been reading this page and also the McDougall journals for a couple of days now.

I found it through Kirk from DU.

I want to say that I am very interested in eating healthy although I am not over weight. Infact, I am the opposite. I have severe Crohn's and have had a prolonged bout of Pancreatitis which has left me severely malnourished and under weight. Currently I weigh 93 lbs. and it is not healthy.

My husband is over weight tipping the scale at almost 270 lbs for his 5'5" frame.

I want to start incorporating many of the wonderful recipes I have been reading on here for both our sakes. I am a teacher so I likely won't really start this seriously until summer, but having just spent 15 days in the hospital and being forced to stay home until Jan, I have really been researching the McDougall diet and feel that it would be great for both of us.

I really like the encouragement you all give each other as well.

Thank you for letting me introduce myself.

I should also mention that my husband is allergic to wheat, oats and squash so I will have to substitute things. He can do rice and corn.
dawsonpam01

Re: Hello, I am new

Postby seestorcoo » Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:45 am

Welcome! You've come to a good place!

I'm sure this can help your husband and I think it would probably help you too - I'm not sure how you would need to modify for your crohns...maybe stick to the less fibrous vegies? It might take some experimentation. However, I'm sure the anti-inflammatory benefits of the eating plan will help.